Recreational: Current Arizona law classifies marijuana, as a “Schedule 1” controlled substance. This includes all forms of marijuana such as edibles and concentrates. If you’re found in possession of marijuana you can be charged up to a class 6 felony.
Medical: Arizona medical marijuana law, prop 203 was signed in 2011
Prop 203 Arizona medical marijuana law Qualifying conditions include:
How much can a patient possess?
Two and one-half ounces of usable marijuana. This is how much a patient can purchase over a 2 week period. The amount resets daily based on 14 days.
Cultivation from your home:
Your residence must be further than 25 miles from a state-licensed dispensary. No more than twelve marijuana plants in an enclosed and locked facility.
State licensed dispensaries:
State-licensed nonprofit dispensaries may produce and dispense marijuana to authorized patients on a not-for-profit basis. The state issued a total of 126 licenses 1 for every 26 licensed pharmacies. 31 additional licenses were issued through a lottery in July 2016.
A designated caregiver can grow marijuana for a qualifying patient’s medical use only if the qualifying patient’s home is more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary and the qualifying patient has designated the caregiver as the one who should be approved to cultivate marijuana on the qualifying patient’s behalf. The amount of marijuana a designated caregiver may grow or possess is limited by the number of qualifying patients who the designated caregiver is assisting.
Arizona does provide a limited reciprocity to visiting patients. In order to qualify, the patient must not be a resident of Arizona and must have been diagnosed with a medical condition recognized under the act and must possess a medical marijuana registration card or its equivalent that was issued pursuant to the laws of another state. The out-of-state registration card has the same force and effect as a card issued in Arizona except that the visiting qualifying patient may not purchase medical marijuana in Arizona.