• Home
  • Kentucky  Marijuana Laws

Kentucky  Marijuana Laws

Penalty Details
Possession
Possession of up to 8 ounces of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 45 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $250.

Possession of 8 ounces or more of marijuana shall be prima facie evidence that the person possessed the marijuana with the intent to sell or transfer it. – See Sale or Trafficking for penalties

Sale or Trafficking
The sale or trafficking of less than 8 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor for a first offense which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500.

A second or subsequent offense for trafficking or selling less than 8 ounces of marijuana is a Class D felony, punishable by a sentence of 1-5 years imprisonment and a fine of not more than $10,000.

The sale or trafficking of 8 ounces- less than 5 pounds is a Class D felony which is punishable for a first offense by 1-5 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000-$10,000. A second of subsequent violation of this section is a Class C felony, punishable by a sentence of 5-10 years imprisonment and a fine of not over $10,000.

The sale or trafficking of 5 pounds or more is a Class C felony which is punishable for a first offense by a sentence of 5-10 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000-$10,000. For a second or subsequent violation of this section, the offender will be guilty of a Class B felony, which is punishable by a sentence of 10-20 years imprisonment.

The sale to a minor is a Class C felony which is punishable by a sentence of 5-10 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000-$10,000.

A subsequent conviction for the sale to a minor is a Class B felony which is punishable by a sentence of 10-20 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000-$10,000.

The sale within 1,000 yards of a school or park is a felony which is punishable by 1-5 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000-$10,000.

Cultivation
Cultivation of fewer than 5 plants is a Class A misdemeanor for a first offense, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 12 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500. For a second or subsequent offense, the offender will be charged with a Class D felony, which is punishable by 1-5 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000-$10,000.

Cultivation of 5 plants or more is a Class D felony for a first offense, which is punishable by 1-5 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000-$10,000. A second or subsequent offense is a Class C felony which is punishable by 5-10 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000-$10,000.

Hash & Concentrates
Hashish is listed as Schedule I hallucinogenic substance, but is punished exactly the same as marijuana infractions. See the penalties for marijuana above for further details on specific penalties.

Paraphernalia
Possession of paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by a maximum sentence of one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500.

Miscellaneous
Prohibited activities
Unless another specific penalty is provided, any person who violates one of the following:

Trafficking in any controlled substance except as authorized by law.
Dispensing, prescribing, distributing, or administering any controlled substance except as authorized by law,
for a first offense, shall be guilty of a Class D felony and a Class C felony for subsequent offenses.
Any person who possesses any controlled substance except as authorized by law shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

Firearm
Any person who is convicted of any violation above who, at the time of the commission of the offense and in furtherance of the offense, was in possession of a firearm, shall:

Be penalized one (1) class more severely than provided in the penalty provision pertaining to that offense if it is a felony; or
Be penalized as a Class D felony if the offense would otherwise be a misdemeanor.